Skip to main content

Junior Events

Here are events of interest for juniors that are coming up in the next year. Unless it says, you can take part in any of these events, no matter your experience.

There is a list of competitions where you represent SYO (or region/school), and another underneath of bigger competitions and events that you might find fun to try.

A list of our own events and trainings can be seen on the SYO Events List - this list includes events that are in the Schools League. For a list of just the Schools League events, have a look on our dedicated Schools page. For a list of all events in the country, see the BOF Fixture's List, or the national Major Fixtures List To find out what all these different competitions are, you could have a look here, or ask another club member.

Compete for SYO

You will be entered by SYO for most of these events - you'll be contacted beforehand to see if you want to take part.

DateEventVenueNearest TownClub/Region 
Sun 20th Oct 2019 CompassSport Cup - Final Pippingford Park Crowborough MVOC  
Sun 17th Nov 2019 British Schools Orienteering Championships Black Park Slough BKO (Competing for your school, not SYO!)
Sun 15th Mar 2020 CompassSport Cup Heat Ogden Water Halifax EPOC  
Sun 22nd Mar 2020 British Relay Championships Iron Hill and Parkgate Rough   SEOA Make it a weekend with the BOC Long on the Saturday
Mon 13th Apr 2020 JK Relays Hutton Mulgrave and Skelder Whitby NEOA Attend the whole JK over the Easter weekend, with the 3 other individuals
Sun 3rd May 2020 Yvette Baker Trophy - Heat Hookstone Woods Harrogate CLARO  
Sat 16th May 2020 YHOA Schools Championships Middleton Park Leeds AIRE (Representing your school)
Sun 21st Jun 2020 British Mixed Sprint Relays Skelmersdale Skelmersdale NWOA Make it a weekend with the BOC Sprint Champs on the Saturday
Sun 5th Jul 2020 Yvette Baker Trophy - Final       *Pending qualification

National Champs & other fun events

These events often need you pre-enter - and watch out, as there are closing dates! If you have any questions, feel free to get in touch with us. The normal sites for pre-entries are Fabian4 and SiEntries. Details about entries are found in event details. These events are often selection races for the summer training camps - details of each camps' selection races can be found on the JROS website.

DateEventVenueNearest TownClub/Region 
Sat 9th/Sun 10th Nov 2019 Twin Peaks Weekend Goyt Valley Buxton MDOC  
Sun 1st Dec 2019 Southern Championships (2019) Cannop Ponds Coleford BOK  
Sun 26th Jan 2020 Southern Championships (2020) Long Valley North South Central BKO  
Sun 9th Feb 2020 Midland Championships Longstone Moor Bakewell DVO  
Sat 22nd Feb 2020 British Night Orienteering Championships Hambledon Marlow TVOC  
Sat 21st Mar 2020 British Long Distance Championships Golden Valley & Cognor Wood Haslemere SEOA ...with the Relays on the Sunday
Fri 10th Mar 2019 JK Sprint Stockton Riverside Stockton NEOA ...and finish the Easter weekend with the relays on the Monday
Sat 11th Mar 2019 JK Middle Sneaton Forest Whitby NEOA
Sun 12th Mar 2019 JK Long Pickering Forest Pickering NEOA
Sat 9th May 2020 British Middle Distance Championships Summerhouse Knott Newby Bridge LOC  
Sun 10th May 2020 Northern Championships High Dam Newby Bridge MDOC  
Sat 20th Jun 2020 British Sprint Championships Skelmersdale Skelmersdale NWOA ...with the Sprint Relays on the Sunday

Selection Competitions

You must be selected to run at these Junior Competitions. They include the Junior Inter-Regional Championships (JIRCs), the Junior Home Internationals (JHIs) and Interland. Selection policies for Interland and the JHIs will be published on the Orienteering England Website, whilst the teams for the JIRCs are selected by the Yorkshire Junior Squad Coaches.

DateEventVenueNearest TownClub/Region 
Coming Soon!  
Last modified on Tuesday, 15 October 2019 20:18