Skip to main content

What's On

South Yorkshire Orienteers organises a range of orienteering events throughout the year. The table below lists all of the confirmed upcoming events.

We also have a calendar of events for the next six months that can be downloaded here or picked up at an event.

Some of the events SYO organises are part of an orienteering league. Each event will have details of any league it is in, but the most common leagues are the Yorkshire Urban League, the Yorkshire Night League and the Yorkshire Orienteering Superleague. Flyers for some of these leagues can be found in the League Flyers section of this page.

Date Event Venue Category
Sat 2nd Nov 2019, 17:15 - 20:15
Regional
Wed 13th Nov 2019
Local
Sun 17th Nov 2019, 10:30 - 12:30
Regional
Sat 23rd Nov 2019, 12:30 - 15:00
Local, Schools
Sat 7th Dec 2019
Club Meeting
Sat 11th Jan 2020, 12:30 - 15:00
Local, Schools
Sun 19th Jan 2020
Regional
Sat 8th Feb 2020, 12:30 - 15:00
Local, Schools
Sun 1st Mar 2020
National
Sat 14th Mar 2020, 12:30 - 15:00
Local, Schools
Sat 16th May 2020, 12:30 - 15:00
Local, Schools

Other Events of Interest

The table below shows events not organised by SYO, but that might be of interest to those who typically attend SYO events.

Neighbouring orienteering clubs such as Derwent Valley Orienteers (DVO) and Eborienteers (EBOR) regularly organise events and details can be found on the British Orienteering website.

Date Event Venue Level Club
Sat 26th Oct 2019 East Midlands League 2019 Longshaw Regional DVO
Sun 3rd Nov 2019 Leek Urban WMUL Leek town Regional POTOC
Sat 9th Nov 2019 Twin Peak Day 1 Goyt Valley forest National MDOC
Sun 10th Nov 2019 Twin Peak Day 2 Stockport Town Centre Regional MDOC
Sun 1st Dec 2019 East Midlands League 2019 Chatsworth TBC venue may change. Regional DVO
Wed 1st Jan 2020 East Midlands Urban League 202... Wirksworth Regional DVO

Club Night

SYO's club night takes place on Wednesday evenings during term time. Each session consists of a mix of physical and technical training. Once per month club night takes place at the SYO local evening event. The first two sessions of September will take place at the slightly earlier time of 6.15-7.45pm to take advantage of the last of the summer evening , before we revert to our normal time of 7-8.30pm and our winter base at High Storrs.

Continue reading Club Night...

Schools League

The South Yorkshire Schools Orienteering League aims to provide school pupils with the opportunity to learn and develop map-reading skills while improving their fitness in a fun, competitive and challenging sport. The league runs from September to June.

Continue reading South Yorkshire Schools Orienteering League...

Coaching & Development

SYO has an active coaching and development programme with sessions that combine technique and physical training and are suitable for people of all ages, experience and ability. We are also looking to train members to become event volunteers.

Continue reading Coaching and Development...

Permanent Orienteering Courses

There are a number of permanent orienteering courses (POCs) throughout South Yorkshire which are available to try at your leisure for little or no cost. The table below lists all known POCs in South Yorkshire including details on how to obtain maps for the courses.

Continue reading Permanent Orienteering Courses...